Jaguars WR Justin Blackmon Suspended For Four Games

Justin Blackmon 1

Will Justin Blackmon stop getting into trouble?

Unfortunately, it seems that Jacksonville Jaguars wide receiver Justin Blackmon’s off the field issues in college continue to translate to the NFL. Blackmon was suspended by the league for the first four games of the 2013 season today. Blackmon reportedly violated the NFL’s substance-abuse policy. At this time, it’s unclear what caused the violation.

This is Blackmon’s second violation since entering the league only one year ago. About a month after being drafted, he was arrested during a traffic stop in Stillwater, Oklahoma after a breath test showed his blood alcohol consumption to be about three times the legal limit. To make matters worse, he will not be paid throughout his suspension. Also, he may have voided some guaranteed money in his contract for the future.

Justin Blackmon“I’ve made a mistake and I have no excuse. I am truly sorry and disappointed in myself for putting the Jaguars in this situation, and I look forward to putting this behind me and maturing and growing as a person. I will have a productive training camp and preseason with my team, and during the suspension, I will work hard to stay in top football shape and be ready to help the Jaguars when I return.

I have chosen to be accountable for my poor decision, and I sincerely apologize to my teammates, coaches, the front office and Jaguars fans for the impact of my mistake on the team.”

Most Jaguars fans must be disappointed in the young receiver, and for good reason. He was taken with the 5th overall pick in 2012 draft with the intention of him becoming a great receiver for the Jags. However, with constant behavior like this, you have to wonder how long Blackmon will last in the NFL. We’ve all heard this story before. Troubled football players don’t last long in the NFL. Hopefully this four game suspension will help clear Justin Blackmon’s head, before it’s too late.

Blackmon said last June that “getting in trouble is not who I’m going to be.” Sorry Justin, you’re not living up to your promise right now.

Comments

