Who will win the NFL MVP award?

NFL MVP 2012

It’s ALWAYS been hard picking a winner for the NFL MVP award and it doesn’t get any easier in 2012.  The debates on this subject can go for weeks, before and after the winner has been chosen.

This year I think the three top nominees are Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady and Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson.  I will give you the reasons on how I made my pick for this award.

First, I think the main components of winning this award consist of team standings and personal accomplishments in the stats.  Now let me give you my thoughts.

Tom Brady - profile pic   Tom Brady is just being Tom Brady.  He has a 100.1 QBR as of Week 15, threw 30TDs and 6 INTs. He has the Patriots back in Super Bowl contention.  New England is 10-4 and Brady showed his skills in full effect on Monday Night Football when he threw for 296 yards and 4 TDs in a 42-14 win against the Houston Texans in Gillette Stadium.  The reason why he might not win the award because we expect this type of play from “Tom Terrific”.  He has the same team and coaching staff that was in the Super Bowl last year (yeah, I know Rob Gronkowski and Aaron Hernandez have been with injuries, but they haven’t been out at the same time throughout the season); with the addition of an unexpected high-ranking rushing attack, I don’t think you can give the award to Brady.

Adrian Peterson - profile picAdrian Peterson is a freak of nature!  His story

Adrian Peterson - HURT

is incredible; he shredded his ACL and MCL last Christmas Eve and like everybody, I thought we wouldn’t see him run in the 2012 season let alone thinking he would be anything like the his nickname… “All Day”; he proved everybody wrong by being even better than ever by accumulating 1,812 rushing yards and 11 TDs after Week 15 and on pace to become the 7th player to rush for 2,000 in a season.  Those numbers already make Adrian Peterson a lock for the Comeback Player of the Year. He needs 294 yards to break the NFL single season rushing record of 2105 set in 1984 by the Hall of Fame running back Eric Dickerson.  Peterson has put the team on his back, but the Vikings are 8-6 and fighting to get a playoff spot in the NFC, and that right there doesn’t make him the MVP of the league.  Maybe if they do make the playoffs and go deep into the postseason, then I may pick him…but right now he’s the runner-up.

Peyton Manning - profile picMy pick for the MVP of the NFL is Peyton Manning.  Manning has taken a year off because of his 4 neck surgeries (that we know of), has changed teams (was released by the Colts and signed with the Broncos) and took a team that finished 8-8 last year and made them one of the top teams in the league and a favorite to go to the Super Bowl.  Peyton has 4016 passing yards, 31 TDs to 10 INTs and a QBR of 103.5.  The Broncos started off slow, but as soon as everybody was on the same page as Manning the Broncos were able to produce a 9-game win streak.  So because of the stats he produces and where the Broncos are in the standings, this is why Peyton Manning is my pick to win the MVP of the NFL.

Written by – Arnold Glass II – AFC West Writer


2 thoughts on “Who will win the NFL MVP award?

  1. By this own authors words, logic dictates that Manning cannot be the MVP. First, if Adrian Peterson is the comeback player of the year, then by definition he is more of a comeback player than Manning who missed all of last season. Manning would first have to be the comeback player of the year to bypass Peterson before even being considered for the MVP. This is how the meda twists things. They have an affinity for Manning regardless the circumstances, so they give Peterson an award to satisfy and shuffle him out of the way. Research Mannings past MVPs and you’ll find at least two were anything but deserved. The shared MVP with McNair and the time he beat out Favre in Favre’s last year. No way Mannings stats can validate his winning either of these other than it being a personality contest or something worse. Second, Mannings numbers do not approach Brady’s, at least not this year. Funny how the media doesn’t count Mannings fumbles nor Brady’s rushing TDs in their calculations, yet did in previous years when Mannings rushing TDs where greater and his fumbles were less than his completion. Someone just needs to make sure the playing field is fair for all participants. Lastly, without Peterson, the Vikings would not make the playoffs. They still might not. If they do they will have just sqeeked by. Mannings team not only made the playoffs last year but won a playoff game with a QB no one wants and has just been reported as being released. When Brady missed his year, the Pats lost five more games than the year before and missed the playoffs. Clearly, in the big picture the MVP is Brady. Even the stats bear it out. Consider that in all of NFL History the best TD/Turnover Ratios were Brady’s @ 9 and Rodger’s @ 8 last year winning him the MVP and accolades as a football god, for his turnover ratio. This year Brady’s Ratio was 8.25 before the 49ers and is still approaching 6, while Mannings is 2.58. For the last half century coaches have stressed and the media has pronounced ball security as the key to victory, that Teams who win the turnover battle/ratio generally win. So why now when Brady has won his division, beaten Manning head to head, beating a top ten defense in the Broncos while Manning lost to the 30th ranked defense in the Patriots, has passed for almost 300 more yards with slower, smaller often injured receivers and a makeshift offensive line, and is sinle handedly pulling the Patriots toward the all-time scoring mark, all while having half as many turnovers as Manning, are Brady’s accomplishments minimized or discounted just so the unfair, non-analytical media can give the MVP award to Manning, their chosen one. If Manning wins this years MVP, then the NFL should consider getting Big Time Wrestling to handle it marketing, they put on a show too that’s not based on actual competition.

  2. You definitely did a lot of reesearch on this topic. I agree with you that shared MVP award should have went solely to McNair, no question. I disagree with your statement about a Comeback Player of the Year supercedes another player to win MVP, those are two different categories. My question to you is who are you picking for MVP, Peterson or Brady? You made good points in your comment and I’m sticking with mine’s. Let’s just see what happens.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s