Johnny Manziel Wins Heisman Trophy

Johnny Manziel, Johnny Football, and now, Johnny Heisman. Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel won the 2012 Heisman Trophy today, and he became the first freshman to even win the trophy. Notre Dame LB Manti Te’o finished second, and Kansas State QB Collin Klien finished third. Manziel received 474 first-place votes and a total of 2,029 points. Te’o received 321 first-place votes and 1.706 points.

Manziel had this to say about his Heisman victory: “I have been dreaming about this since I was a kid, running around the backyard pretending I was Doug Flutie, throwing Hail Marys to my dad. I wish my whole team could be up here with me.”

During the 2012 season, Manziel threw for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns, with just eight interceptions on 273-of-400 passing. He also rushed 184 times for 1,181 yards and 19 touchdowns.

Johnny Football will certainly be a player to watch for years to come.

Comments

