NFL Interview- Doug Baldwin

Doug Baldwin attended Stanford University where he had over 1000 receiving yards and 13 touchdowns in his 4 years there. He went undrafted in the 2011 NFL Draft, but was signed by the Seahawks shortly after the lockout ended. Doug had an impressive rookie season leading Seattle in receiving yards and receptions. Please enjoy the interview with Doug and leave a comment below.

Tom Mullins- How did you get into football and did you play any other sports growing up?

Doug Baldwin My mother introduced me to the sport of football. However, I loved sports ever since I was thrown into them. Basketball has always been my first love though.

Tom Mullins- What was your high school football experience like at Gulf Breeze High School?

Doug Baldwin High school was different. Not very diverse. But I managed. It was a great experience. My high school coach was a huge influence in my life and still is.

Tom Mullins- How was the transition from high school to college football?

Doug Baldwin Not too drastic. Just the part about exclusively football all the time was tough to manage. You had to learn how to manage your time well!

Tom Mullins- What was your college football experience like at Stanford?

Doug Baldwin It was fun I had some ups and downs but nothing different than any other college athlete! Stanford was amazing. I miss that place.

Tom Mullins- Were you disappointed when you went undrafted or did it give you more motivation?

Doug Baldwin Of course. But I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. But it also motivated me.

Tom Mullins- You had a breakout rookie season leading the Seahawks in both receptions and receiving yards, what parts of your game are you looking to improve over the offseason?

Doug Baldwin Every part of my game. I was inconsistent at times and made coverage reads late. So I’m excited to get better.

Tom Mullins- What advice would you give to aspiring young athletes?

Doug Baldwin To work hard and be consistent. The world of sports is about ‘what have you done for me lately’ so continuous hard work is a prerequisite for success.

Tom Mullins- What can we expect from you and the Seattle Seahawks next season?

Doug Baldwin To be more consistent and to steadily improve in both sides of the ball.

Tom Mullins- Thanks for giving up your time to answer a few questions and good luck for next season.

Doug Baldwin Thank you!

Comments

